Home|Artworks|Place, Sand and Oil, 2018-2022
Place, Sand and Oil, 2018-2022

Place, Sand and Oil, 2018-2022

Place, Sand, and Oil is a spatial installation reconfigured from the Saudi pavilion for the 16th International Venice Architecture Biennale in 2018. 

The original work examined urban sprawl and its social structures across the Kingdom. Its central elements featured an experimental material interpreting the primordial elements associated with Saudi Arabia. Resin, a petrochemical derivative, is combined with sand to create a series of translucent surfaces. These handmade sheets were conceived as an interpretation of the major economic drivers supporting the sprawling developments that characterize the nation’s contemporary urban landscape: Oil & Land. 

For Noor Riyadh, Bricklab repurposes these customized resin sheets to highlight the interplay of light and shade during the day. By nightfall, the installation takes on a different character; it glows like a beacon amongst the trees. The installation is reconfigured from its original introverted form to activate vistas and enclosures. 

The original work was commissioned by the Misk Art Institute. It’s reconstruction on Saudi soil is reminiscent of the nation’s inaugural participation at the Venice Architecture Biennale as a special moment immediately preceding the nation’s current cultural renaissance.


RELATED
ARTWORKS
& EVENTS
TICKETS

GET IN TOUCH  
PRESENTED BY
PARTNERS
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

الرئيسية|الأعمال الفنية|المكان، الرمال والبترول, 2018-2022
المكان، الرمال والبترول, 2018-2022

المكان، الرمال والبترول, 2018-2022

“المكان، الرمال، والبترول” عبارة عن بناء تركيبي مشتق من العناصر المكونة لجناح المملكة العربية السعودية في بينالي البندقية السادس عشر للعمارة عام 2018.

تطرق العمل المطروح في البينالي إلى حركة التوسع العمراني المترامي الأطراف وتأثيرها على النسيج الاجتماعي للمدينة السعودية المعاصرة. تجسدت الفكرة في بناء تركيبي يتكون من مادة تجريبية مستوحاة من العناصر الأساسية التي تميز هوية المملكة البيئية والاقتصادية: الرمال والبترول. تم استخدام مادة “الرزين” المصنوعة من مشتقات البترول مع خليط من رمال مختلفة لإنتاج لوحات شبه شفافة تعكس العلاقة بين اصول بيئة المملكة الصحراوية و تطور نظيرتها العمرانية بعد اكتشاف النفط. 

بمناسبة احتفال نور الرياض، تمت إعادة صياغة لوحات “الرزين” والرمال إلى بناء هندسي جديد يتخللها ضوء الشمس أأثناء النهار لتظهر التشكلات المميزة لهذه المادة. أما في الليل، فتتحول هذه اللوحات إلى أسطح مضيئة تظهر مثل المنارة بين أشجار الحديقة التي تحتضن المشروع. 

أُطلق العمل أثناء البينالي بتكليف من معهد مسك للفنون في عام 2018 والذي يمثل بدايات الحراك الثقافي التي بدأت بتغير وجه المملكة. لذلك يمثل إعادة بناء العمل على أأراضي الوطن تخليد تلك اللحظة المحورية في تاريخ مشاركات المملكة الثقافية العالمية.


ذا صلة
الأعمال الفنية والفعاليات
التذاكر

تواصل معنا  
يُقدم من
الشركاء
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.